Melanie Orenius

Melanie Orenius graduated from the Aalto University Master’s Degree programme in Fine Art  in December 2014. She is not restricted to any specific medium, but her most common uses of techniques are photography, video, painting, drawing and performance.

Website: www.wix.com/orenius/melanie

The work I am exhibiting in Current State is the video piece Melamophosis, which is the biggest part of my final MA project (that includes the video, photography and a painting) with the same title.
The video is a type of documentary of my extremely personal journey through shapeshifting,  which  is  a term  for  human-animal  transformations, that occurs all around the world in for example the voodoo (vodou/vodun) belief and shamanism.
I have studied these transformations, the therapeutic/spiritual value of them and how shapeshifting can be applied by anyone anywhere today. In the video I am putting myself in very vulnerable situations, trying out whether one can benefit, and how one can benefit, from  these  transformations.

Duration
15:25min